Newbie break-in help please.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Screwdriver

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
New to Nitro R/C. I have a RS4 3 Type SS. Just got done building it and ran the idle break-in (2 tank fulls). Went to break in the car in low and mid range speeds but it takes almost full throttle to get the car moving. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance. Screwdriver

turn both needles in 1/16th of a turn. Take your time with the break in. Don't be looking for performance yet. Patience during break in will give you a reliable engine, if you treat it right.

As I said I'm new at this but both needles? I only see one thing to turn. By adjusting these needles should it give me low and medium range speeds? As of right now I almost have to go full throttle to even go at all. And I am taking my time. That's why I came on here. I didn't/don't want to ruin anything. Thanks again. Screwdriver

What engine do you have? You say this is a kit you built. the RS4 SS has the 12RSS engine on it and it has a 2 needle carb that you can tune.

Let us know what your engine is.

Umm I still have the 12Rss and I have the HSN needle that you see in that diagram. I also have another one where the needle is located where the rotay arm is or the slide carb boot is. The idle is considered sometimes as a needle to people and then there is a Midrange needle. you don't have that so don't worry about it.

Give us a couple pics of your engine and carb assembly

Jon

Attachments

• engine1.JPG
    engine1.JPG
    54.1 KB · Views: 182
  • engine2.JPG
    engine2.JPG
    60.9 KB · Views: 181
  • body1.JPG
    body1.JPG
    40.2 KB · Views: 150
  • body2.JPG
    body2.JPG
    45 KB · Views: 165
  • body3.JPG
    body3.JPG
    33.4 KB · Views: 156