Newb advice on TRX4 battery/charger and low cg tray

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EE geek

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I'm a newb to RC cars but have been trying to research as much as possible on youtube. I say newb because my last RC experience was with my uncle's Tamiya Hotshot 30ish years ago - I'm sure a few things might have changed in that time :)

I want to get a crawler and going to get a TRX4 defender. By most accounts here and on yt, it's pretty good out of the box. The only thing I want to change for now - though I know that'll likely change... Is putting in a Bowhouse low battery tray.

Given that... I'd really love advice on batteries/charger - any recommendations for...
- battery capacity - is it better to go with higher capacity/heavier to get more run time given that I'll be mounting it lower?
- brands that you've found reliable and that fit in this tray?

I see Traxxas sell a battery/charger "completer kit" with a 4000mAh 11.1v 3-Cell 25C LiPo and charger in it but is there a better way to go with another brand that will fit in that modded tray that is compatible with the TRX4 without surgery? I'm ok spending a bit of money if it gets me a reliable/non explodey battery with good run time and a decent charger.

Many thanks!

Don’t buy traxxas over priced batteries and charger. Get a good charger and a couple 3s lipos. I use Ovonic 3s micros off Amazon.

I had a low cg tray in my trx4 sport for a while, it will still fit a pretty large battery. I generally run a 3600mah 3s gensacearespammers adventure in that truck. It lasts a looong time!
I dont think i would go much bigger, youll get better performance running a smaller pack, just buy 2 and bring the spare in your pocket if your gonna do a long run.

Welcome to the forum.