New to 1/8 scale buggies, which one is right for me?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redhatman

Hardcore RCTalk User
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hey guys, I recently sold my Brushless RC18 on ebay to make room for a 1/8 buggy I will be buying. I decided I want to go Ofna, but not sure which one.

I want something that is fast, tough for big jumps, and forgiving in bad wipeouts. I will not be racing much, just for driving around in the yard and flying through the air.

I dont want to spend lots of money, right now I was looking at the
-Ofna LX Comp
-Ofna Hyper 7 PBS

Which one would you say is right for me? Is the hyper 7 worth the extra $150 to a basher?

BTW, I'm only new to buggies, not to nitro. I have had a couple nitro cars before. Thanks a lot in advance.
-Pat

I know you are short on funds, but the TQ Sport kit and a cheap mill might be a better buggy long run. Otherwise I vote for the Hyper 7. Just better overall, and strong. PBS front end is real strong.

If you want to get into the scene than go with the cheaper one but if you want it to last I agree on the PBS.

ok, so you think all around the PBS is a better buggy than the LX Comp and worth the extra $150 or so?

redhatman said:
ok, so you think all around the PBS is a better buggy than the LX Comp and worth the extra $150 or so?
Definitley!!! You can upgrade the braces and my favorite the PBS suspension to C Hub suspension. I had a similar buggy the Ofna Hyper 7 PCR. Strong rig.
The LX comp has a weak desighn IMO. The layout is crap and the engine is not my fav. The Hyper 7 is the way to go in my opinion.

i got an ofna ultra mbx R2, its only a roller, been sitting in the basement for a while now...has PBS and C-Hub setups....some extras...needs wome TLC...if your interested, let me know...