Need help/advice

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LSUDJB13

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I’m pretty new to RC cars. I played with them as a kid but they were just like the ones you get at Walmart. My 9 year old has shown interest in the hobby so I’m for sure going to support that. We’ve looked at different types and he really likes buggies. I’m looking for something we could both have fun playing with, something that you can upgrade as things break and something $300 or under. What would you guys recommend? I’m open to any brands. Let me know what you guys think!

Welcome. Things to consider are 2 wheel drive versus 4 wheel drive, on road or off road, nitro or electric power, ect. If you are keeping to a $300 budget, make sure your purchased vehicle includes motor, electrics, battery, as some kits may be missing these things. I have seen "Ready to run" kits come without a battery or charger. Answering these questions will help us narrow down a good vehicle to start with.
I recommend electric, less time tuning and cleaning, more time for fun. 2 wheel drives tend to be easier and cheaper to fix.

Oh man I completely forgot about all that stuff. I’d like off road, for sure electric. I’d like something ready to run vs a kit right now since I’m learning. I’d really like to get a kit later on down the road though. I’m open to either 2 or 4 wheel drive.

I only know Traxxas from experience. A 2wd Stampede with brushed motor will run you about $160 USD, $35 each for a couple of Nihm batteries, an Traxxas ID charger that charges Nihm and Lipo batteries (for when you're ready for brushless motor and Lipo power) for $50.

1 last thing scale?He picked the hardest rc to master besides a submarine.lol lc racing the 1/16 and 1/10