MT2 18SS built.... but some problems...

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbohl51

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Aight....

got the thing finished up yesterday..... took a lot longer than i expected.

Ran it through two tanks at idle no problem.

Was trying to continue with break in which requires you drive the car at low to medium throttle for 3-4 tanks.

I put the truck on the ground, give it some gas, it goes no where. Engine revs, car doesn't move.

I pick the car up, give it gas, wheels spin just fine...

put it back on the ground, doesn't move.

I'm pretty new to gas, so i'm not sure where to begin with this. My friend just built a savage 4.6 along with me, and he is having the same problems as well.

I made sure the clutch was on right, and it is.

Could it be the slipper clutch? Or could it be the engine isn't tuned?

I"m really lost on this, and if anyone could please point me in the correct direction it would be great appreciated. :cheers:

Tighten the slipper clutch all the way, then back it off 1/2 turn. If the engine revs, turns the wheels off the ground, but won't turn them on the ground, that's most likely the problem.
Let us know.

thats what my first thought was, but my friend swore it was the engine not being tuned... which in all reality, makes no sense. :)

I'll give that a shot when i get a chance, and let you know how it turned out.

Thanks!

If the engine revs, it's not a tuning issue.
The springs for the clutch shoes, if you put them in wrong, will engage the clutch ALL the time, even at idle, so that's not the problem.
Next would be the slipper. It's meant to slip only to absorbe the shock through the drive train when landing. If it slips when you throttle it, the friction will melt it.