LsT2 : Gold Head

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xucco.x8

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
ok, So i am gonna be trading this guy for my xbox360 for his Lst2 roller.

he has a gold head 247 on it but says it starts but dies, he mentions it may need to be sealed... I am fairly new to nitro and would like to know what engine would be best to bash around in the case this one is a gonner...or should i have it rebuilt...thanks

As long as your xbox works fine, I'd tell him to get to sealing and show you that it runs. It only takes about an hour to seal a nitro engine. Used engines are a crap shoot. You just never know how they were treated. Assume that it needs a new engine, adjust what you think the lst2 is worth with the cost of a new engine, then decide if the trade is worth while.

thx metalhead...ok, so lets say it needs a new engine and the roller is in descent shape...what do u think the value would be and how much $ am I looking at for an engine for this Lst2?

LST2 roller in stock form with or without electronics? Assuming with. What radio and servos? Stock FM with JR590M steering/570 t/b?

If it's in good shape and the engine runs, $250 max. $200 max without engine.

If it was a new roller off ebay (true roller without electronics/engine/pipe...), $250+.

Good engines for that rig are the following are typicals:
picco 28
LRP28 S3
LRP30 (but may cause 2 speed issues)

Dynamite big red would be a decent budget engine.

Losi 454 comes in the LST XL, supposed to be a clone of the LRP28, not sure if it's a clone of the Spec2 or Spec3 though. Can be found on ebay usually cheaper than retail.
ebay $139 shipped