i have some newbie tuning questions

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Banshee

RCTalk Qualifier
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
i am a complete newb to nitro rc and i dont wanna f- up my engine when i can finally run my truck. so i need you guys's help.

i figured out yesterday where the low speed and high speed needles and idle screw on the carb are. by the way i have an 03 fantom .12 engine (rear exhaust, rotary carb).
my first question- what the hell is lean and rich? i have yet to figure out what that means and i know its very important to know.
also in front of my carb (or more like on the side) there is a little metal thing. i think it is a throttle arm? when i move it from side to side the carb like opens and closes. its real easy to move too, like it would move while I'm using the truck. i dont know if this is good.

now to actual tuning- when i first start the car, i dont know what i should do. i guess if it runs good i should just leave it but i may have to tune it since the atmosphere is different then it was where the guy that had it before lived. the engine manual says to return the setting to factory and start from there. i assume you do this while the engine is running? I'm thinking you turn all needles clockwise (in?) until they stop. then bring them out 3 turns or whatever as the manual says. am i right or can i mess it up like that.

i read the recent thread (i think robh's) on tuning. and i guess it would be helpful but i dont know the basics.

oh yeah this doesn't pertain to tuning but when i try to put my air filter on the carb, the idle screw blocks some of it from going on it. i dont know what to do i think dirt and stuff may get in since its not completely on the carb.