I eat spur gears for a living

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newnitro

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Ok so everything was working fine. Until the tranny kept slipping out of gear I troublshot it down to this pin on the right side of the trany that goes into it. The pin is connected to this little spring thing and the spring is really loose on the mount. So whenever i start driving it always pops out because there is no pressure holding it in. So what i did was just ziptied the little arm that hold's pressure to it to keep it in the tranny. Now if i run into anything it just eats my spur gear. Is that pin a fail safe so if you crash it lets the tranny run loose. I just have no idea what it is and how to stop eating my gears

I'm not 100% sure what your missing, but it sounds like your missing the reverse micro servo that holds that linkage in one of two spots, forward and reverse.

Wish I had a better photo for you, but this is as good as I got since I don't have the revo anymore:
2005-1209-RevoReversServoCircled.jpg

Green circles are the reversing servo and the connection on the spring I think your talking of. Stupid antenna tube is in the way...

It doesn't really have anything to do with your spurs getting chewed up I don't think. My guess would be that your slipper adjustment is too tight causing the spur to not slip like its supposed to when you hit something.

Or, your chassis is tweaked or engine mount is cracked, so when you hit something the engine actually moves a bit causing the alignment to get off just enough to burn up your spur.

Your problem is most likely the mesh and/or bad clutch bearings. The clutch and spur have to be as tight as possible, while still being able to spin smooth. +1 on the tight slipper.