How to break in a RC Motor

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YoMamaLlama

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
  2. Flying
Hey, I know from the last post I made I said I was going to get brushless, but everything is super delayed (I got up to 3 months lol). So I just got another ARRMA Brushed 12 T motor for the time being. First, should I break in wet, or dry? If wet, how do you do it? I have some knowledge on dry, but not any on wet break in's. What motor-bearing lube do you recommend?

Some will argue that wet is better, with these cheap motors I never really noticed a difference to be honest.

I hear Marvell Mystery Oil works great.
Lol. I was looking for that vid. Just got back with the link. You're too quick.

Some will argue that wet is better, with these cheap motors I never really noticed a difference to be honest.

Marvell Mystery Oil looks like any normal type of oil, I have oil, does it need to be a certain type?

I wont argue its best to break in wet with green anti freeze race those motors for years we broke them in wet and the relubed bearings

I've done both wet and dry but all of my brushed motors are Holmes Hobbies and he recommends dry break in.

LOL

I have seen some other videos too, they use Motor spray(or this) to clean it out. Worth it? Or just use a air compressor (Which I have) One more thing, you said Marvell Mystery Oil works good. Should I use that or a type of oil made for electric motors? Specifically bearings.

Last edited:
LOL

I have seen some other videos too, they use Motor spray(or this) to clean it out. Worth it? Or just use a air compressor (Which I have) One more thing, you said Marvell Mystery Oil works good. Should I use that or a type of oil made for electric motors? Specifically bearings.