How long have you been into RC?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thats an age telling question right there. LOL. I have been into R/C since I got my first radio shack car in about 1980.. The kind that just went forward and had a single button on the controller that made it go into reverse where a slip axle set up made it turn to the left .. Those were the only affordable toy grade r/c's at the time and they were still pretty expensive for 1980 dollars.. so yeah I been playing with toy cars for about 42 years at this point.. been building and racing them, for 36 of the 42. Been designing and scratch building for 25 of the 42, and I have been running only cars I design and build since 2012.
I had one or two of those back in the day :)

I've been into RC for 35 years. Got a Tyco Mini Hopper, and then I bought a bunch of Nikko's, and Tyco's, scrimping and scraping to save up for them. Build my first custom RC in 1988. Wish I still had all of that stuff, I really don't even know what became of it (might have given some away to a nephew at some point).

Got my first hobby grade RC back around 1988, it was a Tamiya Striker. Tinkered with them here and there but really could not afford it through my younger adult years. Had my first son and when he was about 5 started to get him into it. 4 sons later I am deep into RC’s the past 5yrs.

Sure have come a long way since the old Striker lol

1984 or 1985, with a pair of used Tamiya Grasshoppers, then around 1990 picked up a Frog and a Kyosho Ultima. Needless to say, I've been around RC stuff a really long time, and shows that I'm getting old.

amagine if we could see how much in total we spent on rc cars 🥶