Help me win the race I can't lose!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

se7en11

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi all

I'm completely new to RC cars and still yet to make a purchase but I'm 100% ready to commit! I just have one problem... the reason why I'm buying an RC car (other than for the sheer joy of it) is because my father just bought one (literally 2 minutes before I started writing this) and as he hit the checkout button he made the comment "if you buy a car and beat me on our first race, I'll pay for your purchase"... I'm 90% sure he was bluffing but I'm definitely going to call his bluff and take his cash!

So my question is... what should I buy to give me the best chance of winning and getting my money back?

The rules:
  • Off-road race (dirt track)
  • Petrol powered
  • Approx $1000AUD spend (incl. any mods/upgrades)

What my father bought:
Screen Shot 2020-04-04 at 5.36.06 PM.png

King Motor Ready To Run Blade 36cc 1/5 Scale 2WD RC Buggy

KM-BLADE SPECIFICATIONS:
  • Air cooled, 36cc Engine
  • 8000 RPM clutch.
  • LxWxH: 817x480x320mm
  • Rear vented disc brakes.
  • Adjustable #1191 Walbro carburetor with choke and prime button.
  • Large Bore Shock Absorbers.
  • Large fuel tank provides a run time of approximately 45 minutes
  • Tire Track: Front 395mm/ Rear 400mm
  • Max Speed: 80km/h
  • Grey Fire Chassis - 6061 Billet Aluminium
  • Orange alloy parts
  • New upgraded polyamide / nylon material for many components
  • Poly Carbonate material for body
  • Silver/Orange Suspension
  • Orange beadlock
  • Pioneer Tyre

Few considerations: