Got my first two RC Nitro cars. Could use some help please!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gdourado

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
Hello, hope everyone is doing well.

This is my first post here. I am a total newbie to RC and got my first two cars and am looking for some help. I could have started simple, but got two Nitro used models instead, so I am a bit lost.

Some background…
My name is Gonçalo, I am from Portugal and currently I am 40 years old.
When I was a kid, I liked RC and had a couple of Nikko cars when growing up. But I remember always wanting a big serious RC and back when I was 11, 12 years old, nitro was the thing! But it was also very expensive! There was no e-commerce and here in Portugal a Nitro car at the time would cost about two times the average salary of a month. So I never got one.

Fast forward to today and me and my son (he is currently 7), are at a local flea market and end up doing two impulse buys on two used Nitro RC cars. Both were cheap and at the time it seemed like a good project to do with my son. But since these are my first RC cars and they are used and a bit old, I could really use your help to bring them both to a state where they can be driven and enjoyed.

So here they are…

The first one we got is a Tamiya TGS. I pulled the trigger on this one because it seemed really clean and in good condition and it also reminded me a lot of the nitro cars I used to dream about owning back in the day.
The car was complete with everything except the body. Here are a couple of pictures of when I got it home:
23256-B73-20-A3-46-DD-AA17-4-D8-F0-AE4-A7-BE.jpg

1-AF10-D80-04-BB-44-AC-A4-E9-9-FEB961-EFFED.jpg

CAD8-DA92-EB14-4-D8-C-8415-F396-D77-FD0-BA.jpg