G.I. joe Crawler

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

topgun542

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Check this video out!

i really want to do this. i have the jeep from when i had the joe toys. i have no experience in crawling but i do have a maxx 2.5 so i no nitro stuff. i was wondering if anyone could recommed some things to convert it into a scaler/crawler. here is a link where someone did it but its very limited in option.
http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/showthread.php?t=169246
so if anybody has any used parts or could just help me out i would really appreciate it. I'm on a very low budget so nothing to crazy. lol

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
Your nitro will not work to do a scaler or crawler, this is a scaler project by the way.You will need to try to buy a set of axles and tranny and start the build from there. All those scalers shown have a good amount of cash and alot of time into them to make them that way, other wise they will not turn out. My opinion.

oh no i no its electric i was just telling you that I've had some sort of rc experience

I thought you meant convert your nitro into a scaler/crawler. Find out what the wheel base is on that body of yours from about the middle of the front fender to the middle of the back fender wich will help decide a chassis. Maybe find out how wide it is too to see what axles would be best. I'll move this to the Scaler forum.

the one with the figure that turns with the steering wheel is pretty amazing. even flipped the scale realism is there.

Cool project! I have been trying to find a good deal on one of these military GI Joe Jeeps for a while now. Make sure you post up a build thread in the members projects thread once you get started.