First time gluing tires.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RetroKevin

Bashing is a way of life!
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
  3. Crawling
So I got some fairly cheap drifting tires for one my 1/10 on road cars. I didn't know it when I bought them but they didn't come pre-glued. No biggie I bought tire glue awhile ago.

They were a very tight fit. I ended up using a heat gun to get them to fit (maybe mistake #1). After they cooled down I cleaned the seam up with denatured alcohol and used tire glue on them.

20210814_233549.jpg

20210814_231635.jpg

I personally think I did a sloppy job, but hey it's my first time 🤣

Should I have done anything different?

I haven't done the other side yet because I'm waiting for the glue to dry. And if I totally messed up it'd be easier to fix it now.

I usually peel the bead back ,an put a drop in on the bead an let it pop back in place
in increments all around the tire in spots as I walk around the tire ,not all at once!
I do that on all 4 tires on one side ,then I go back to the first one that I started with
an repeat the process for the other side!
You dont need special glue from the hobby store ,you can get regular super glue!..:thumbs-up:

I usually peel the bead back ,an put a drop in on the bead an let it pop back in place
in increments all around the tire in spots as I walk around the tire ,not all at once!
I do that on all 4 tires on one side ,then I go back to the first one that I started with
an repeat the process for the other side!
You dont need special glue from the hobby store ,you can get regular super glue!..:thumbs-up:
So that was my plan. But these aren't rubber. They seem to be the same compound/plastic that the rim or rc parts are made from.