First electric vehicle for a 13 year old

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Triggaaar

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi all

My son is about to turn 13, and I'm hoping to get him an RC vehicle to have fun driving around the garden.

He's physically disabled: his hand skills should be fine with a controller, but he'll sit down while driving, rather than walking around watching the vehicle.
The garden is flat, grass and patio - about 70 feet long, by 20 feet.

Noting that I'm a newbie, I would guess that the most import requirements for us would be:
Obviously ability to navigate rough grass with ease
Decent battery life
Good stability (it will be harder work for him to go and right a vehicle that's tumbled)
Fun - I don't have any preconceived ideas on what type of vehicle would be the most fun - a moderately fast buggy, or a truck, tank etc. A flying vehicle would no doubt be fun, but I'm guessing a bit tricky to keep within a modest garden?

Budget: Anything from say £60 to £200. Happy to spend on the low side if that's all that's needed to meet the requirements, but will spend on the high side if everything cheaper falls short.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated

Thanks

there was a self riting rc made a few years ago not sure by who.not sure if it would fit in you budget either..

Thank you. Although that would be a cool extra feature, it's not a complete necessity, so I wouldn't want to go all out for that at the expense of the other points. My son can walk with a frame, so can recover a vehicle if he has to, and he also has me to run around for him if necessary, so I figure as long as a vehicle isn't particularly unstable, it should be ok.