Father son hobby

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bisesto54

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I'm looking to purchase a RC truck for my son and I to enjoy. I work in construction so there is plenty of land for us to tare up! I was looking at the Traxxas stampede because of the speed control and being able to upgrade. Trying to stay under $350 and trying to find something we can put together or modify. Please point us in the right direction.

Last edited:
Welcome to the site! I'm just getting back into the hobby with about a 10 year break from RC. Not all that familiar with the new stuff yet. Hopefully someone will chime in and give you some input soon.
Sure loved my HPI Savage back in the day. It was one tough truck! Still have it but hasn't been ran in a very long time.

Thank you for the reply. I hope to find some good suggestions. The worst is thinking you have a good deal from the "reviews" and end up wasting your $.

@Bisesto54 welcome to RCTalk! You've picked a great hobby to share with your son and I'm sure you're both gonna get a kick out of RC's.

The two models that I would recommend checking out for you and your son would be either the Arrma Granite 4x4 Mega or the Traxxas Stampede 4x4 (I actually have two, one for me and one for my son as well). Both are great trucks and are pretty durable.

The Stampede does have more hop-up choices at the moment but the Granite 4x4 is fairly new so I wouldn't be surprised to see that change soon.