decreasing motor temps?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fishaddict

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I am new to the nitro world and was just wondering how to decrease motor temps? I know I still need to get a temp gun and have been reading to keep temps between 230-260.

The first priority is the carb settings and the right fuel. Just make sure you don't exceed the manufacturers settings and use a quality fuel with the right nitro and oil percentage. The next priority is to make sure the body has a few windows for proper ventilation to air cool the engine. The last thing to do is to seal the engine with gasket sealer and then use green slime on the o rings on the needles from the carb. There's a sticky on this site on how to seal the engine along with videos on YouTube.

Yeah tune for performance and smoke, using temps only as a guide.

I guess I'm kinda opposite when it comes to tuning. I tune to temp and keep my temps in the safe zone. To me the smoke will always be there so I trust my temp gauge and the sound of my engine. If its lean you'll hear the different pitch of the engine and it will machine gun so to speak. The temp gauge is there to really see if your high speed is lean or not in my book. Till this day I don't know how I got by without a temp gun and not over leaned my engines.