Center drive line keeps popping out.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swahlquist

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
photo.php
Sorry if this is a dumb question. I am really new to the nitro scene and to the 4x4 stuff. Just bought a Losi LST2 that has the FOC on it. After buying it I ran two tanks threw it and then noticed it was running funny. After looking at it I noticed the center drive line that goes to the front wheels popped out. So I was going to try to fix it but It looks like it is too short. Any suggestions?

Last edited:
The drive shafts are actually a little short in the sense that they just barely sit in the outdrive cups but I've never had one pop out and I've bashed the hell out of mine. I would check and make sure your transmission and your diff are seated where they are supposed to be.

Agree ^

Is it popping out of the diff or tranny? Check your outs and make sure they don't have a bunch of slop..

okay thanks for the input. it is popping out of the tranny. I torn into it a little deeper and I think I am going to have a lot of work a head of me. There was all kinds of surprises. Striped out screws broken screws and other broken parts. No wonder I got the truck so cheap ($100)

Stripped screws may allow the tranny to move slightly, causing the shaft to pop out.

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2

If the chassis rails are cracked, it will allow enough flex to do that, or if the diff holder yoke is broke, it will also allow enough movement to pop out.

I broke many chassis rails on my aftershock... ended up making a skid plate that tied the front/center together, then I never broke another set again. The thing was a tank after a few "upgrades".