Break-in Bitch

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CeSu-Pro

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hello, this is my first time to this forum as well as my first time in r/c'ing... and i am having a HELL of a time breaking in my new motor. I bought the Savage SS k4.6 kit and put it all together and now i am trying to break my motor in. I've gotten through the first tank just idling, and now I'm trying my second tank to slowly drive in circles... but i just can't get the damn thing to start. it keeps flooding, so i take out the glow plug and drain out the excess fuel then try again and nothing, from time to time it will try to kick over, but does not. then the pull start will get REALLY REALLY hard to pull, like near impossible (so i think i probably shouldn't yank,...) so i pull the plug out again and repeat.... but before all this non-startin problems i was able to get it running, and i did drive it a little bit, and in the manual it says to take it slowly up to full throttle at first to burn of the excess fuel, and when i did that, that's when it died and hasn't started since.... so,... basically wtf,... i've heard that it's a pain in the ass to break in, but is this worse than normal? or what am i doing wrong? or what should i know?..... sorry for the long winded first message, i am just trying to be as informative as possible as to not confuse,... as i said, i am new to this,... Thank you.

Weird, when I had the K4.6 it was one of the easiest engines I had ever broken in. It sounds like your LSN is too rich so its flooding with fuel. When it gets tight, its flooded but it sounds like you know that. I would try leaning the LSN in little incriments and it should be easier to start. Also try heating it up with a hair dryer...it helps sometimes.