Beginner to nitro RC

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arapuraz

RC Newbie
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am a beginner to nitro RC cars and have no idea what to buy. I was wondering if I could get some help on the following questions.
1. Should I buy a new one that is relatively cheap ( £100-£170) or a second-hand one?
I was wondering if it would be better to buy a lower spec new one or a higher spec car that is second hand? If I was going for a second-hand car, I was looking for a budget roughly under £100, is this too low?
2. Since I am new to this hobby, I wanted to start off with a lower price range and then build up to higher specs. So with the above-stated price range of £100-£170 (for a new one) , could I have some suggestions on models and makes I should buy?
3. For second-hand cars could I have some suggestions on good second-hand cars as well?

Thank you for all your help in advance

As newcomer to the hobby, I would recommend against a used rig until you learn the ins and outs of tuning. As far as brands go, I'd see what your local hobby shop (LHS) carries in models as well as parts. I've had good experience personally with Traxxas, HPI, Associated and Vaterra(The last two are electrics).

I would suggest looking for a good stadium truck like the Traxxas Rustler. They're cheap fairly tough and parts and hop-ups are available easily.

Once again, I would not recommend ANY used vehicles until you're familiar with tuning and breaking in nitro engines.

Buy the best that you can afford. Make sure that what you buy has a good supply of replacement parts at the store you shop at.

Are you looking for on road or off road?

My first nitro rc I bought was a savage 25, I didn't know much about it and probably ruined the engine because of that.