2wd slash differential problem

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

E4Quest

RC Newbie
Reaction score
So I am pretty new to the hobby and I bought a pretty beat slash off of a family member to fix up and use. So I bought a new motor, suspension etc. but while I’m waiting on the motor to come in I have the old one out and I’m just giving it a deep clean. Then I turned the spur gear and it only moved the left side tire but I’d I spun the right side the gears spins. The motor and pinion gear out if that has to do anything. I don’t know if this is normal so someone with more experience please help.

With a used kit, bearings are likely worn. If the bearings on one axle side are a little more gummed up, and the diff is lacking proper fill, one wheel will easily spin before the other.

I would tear it completely apart and check the bearings. Take the diff apart and clean everything in it and the trans in a bowl of Simple Green. Make sure you check the thin plastic shims on the gears in the trans. There are 4 of them in the trans. Part number 1985 in this PDF...
111123-TQi-5803-Transmission.jpg

Those shims tend to wear, so you might grab a pack of them off Amazon

Reassemble everything per the exploded view above, and put new grease on all the gears and in the diff. It's not a sealed diff, so just repack it with some Mobil 1 synthetic grease, unless someone else has any other suggestions.

Last edited:
That actually doesn't look bad. Should be fine, but with a used kit, it is always a good idea to check and refill the diff and grease the gears anyway.

That actually doesn't look bad. Should be fine, but with a used kit, it is always a good idea to check and refill the diff and grease the gears anyway.