1/8th compared to 1/10th

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pistolpete

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hi to everyone, I am still pretty new to this stuff and I've got a 1/10 scale monster truck and a 1/10 scale buggy, but I want to get a truggy. I have a newbie question for anyone to answer.......
How much bigger is a 1/8th to a 1/10th scale?
I don't do any racing just bashing but I would like to see the difference in size.
Sorry but no local hobby shops in my area to go and compare. If anyone can post pics so that I can compare and see if its worth getting a 1/8th or just get a 1/10th scale. Also which is a good entry level truggy (remember I don't plan on racing) looking for more of a RTR. Thanks

1/8th scale can be pretty big for an RC Car. My Truggy is 1/8th scale and is 21.5" long, and 18" wide. Some are bigger...some are slightly smaller. Now for comparison, my 1/10th scale Traxxas Rustler is 15" long, and 12" wide.

Hope that helps?

Truggies require a lot of differential maintenance and frequent CB bearing changes. About 1 hour on a set of CB bearings and you have to throw them away or risk chewing up your CB.
Differentials need fresh diff fluid every2-3 hours to stay at maximum performance.
For what you are wanting to do I'd suggest a 1/8 scale Monster Truck.
HPI Savages or a Losi LST2 are the two best out there.