What shocks should i buy?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kris407

RCTalk Talkaholic
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
i need to replace the eight shocks on the Savage X 4.6 so whats the best for my buck?

Why do you "need" to replace them? I have been using the stockers, with the black springs, for over 10 years, with no issues at all with them.

Depends on what you do with your truck. I'm currently doing the same thing on the same truck, I settled on the factory plastic big bores for bashing. There is a seller on that one auction site that is selling un-assembled new kits for $10.50+$5 shipping. Just ordered a set myself. Includes factory oil too but thats going in the tool box haha

Edit: Nvm those are the smaller sized one, YIKES hope they can cancel my order. Swear I checked the PN. Oh well.

Last edited:
half are bent at the bottom.

i have no complaints on the stock ones but i figured i'd check on here before i purchased anything.

Nothing wrong with factory shocks, sounds like a good price too.

The Savage i bought has eight shocks and the ones i got are four "big bore" shocks that were taken off a newer XL. From the info i read they will work in place of the eight old ones.and i like the idea of only sevicing four as opposed to eight since i am just starting with MT's and i am gonna try a few different weight oils. does that sound good?

That is the upside to the big bores, they also have dual rate springs and the shafts are less likely to bend.

The oil shipped in the kits or pre-filled shocks is equivalent to 30wt per HPI's manual. Many use 35-40wt.