Trouble starting new Hobao Hyper SS with Hyper 30 Engine

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shaundpee

RC Newbie
Reaction score
HI Guys. My name is Shaun. I'm a newbie in this forum and to nitro rc. I'm having an issue with my Hobao hyper ss cage truggy with the Hyper 30 engine that is brand new. For some reason, getting it started is a hassle and not working out. I have the car for three days now, I will give a break down of each day what really happened.

Day1:
In an attempt to start the engine to break it in, the pull starter snapped! Eager to start the car, I used a home drill onto the backplate hex to crank the engine. However doing this led the one way bearing breaking :(. Called it a day as it was not possible to start anymore.

Day 2:
Managed to get a starter box. The engine started immediately! Used to cut out after 10 seconds or so, so I richened the the lsn slightly until perfect. Idle gap was set to 1mm opening and hsn to factory break in settings. The car idled excellent throughout the entire tank fuel. No hiccups, no wanting to switch off etc. Attempted to start the car when tank was done, but starter box battery was dying so was not able to start it. However the flywheel was feeling way more harder to turn now after letting the engine idle for a tank fuel.

Day 3: