Nitro Boat Engine Problems

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mavrick

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I just bought a used nitro boat with a 3.5cc K and B outboard. I'm having problems running it. It only has one fuel air adjustment and another screw which i think is the idle screw but i'm not sure, I'm new to this... It seems to be running extremely rich even if the air mixture needle is completely unscrewed from the carb. It seems like it floods really easily and if i can get it to start the throttle response is a joke. If i give it throttle it usually just chokes itself out. if it starts it will only run for about 5 seconds and then choke out and fuel will spit from the carb. The glow plug seems too be alright as long as i have a good battery in the igniter but I'm going to replace the plug to see if it makes a difference although i don really think its the main problem. Any adjustment i make on the fuel air needle it seems to me that its not really even doing anything. It just remains extremely rich. I actually took the needle right out of the carb and it ran better and i had some good throttle response but the rpms seems really high even though my idle trim on my remote was low. I'm having to do this out of the water because i don't have enough time to get it to the water without it dying on me. Also it dies immediately after i remove the glow igniter. Can someone please tell me whats going on here? Thanks