NEWBIE: Looking for some Tuning Tips

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

V6king

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hey guys.. I just got an HPI RTR EVO 3 and I'm new to the RC world... I got my car running somewhat nice and I'm trying to tune it for the best performance.

I did notice that it stalls frequently when I gun it suddenly and just dies. Sometimes instead of just dying out it actually hesitates and then stalls if that helps. The most established temperature was around 215, should it be more? Which carb screw should I adjust and to what direction. Any tips or ideas will be appreciated. ALSO, it spits out ALOT of fuel through the exhaust, however it also seems to be burning it correctly because its smokes under acceleration.

ANy tips will be appreciated. THANKS!

::JP

If you bought this car brand new,in the owners manual there should be engine factory settings,try setting it back to them, you should have 3 needl's, High speed needle,Low speed needle,And your idle needle. The high speed needle is bigger,usually sticking out of the carb and very noticable,lowspeed is located on the side of the carb,near the throat,screw needle should be located near the lowspeed needle. now that you got the general idea of your needle locations

Go to the low speed needle and richen it up about a 1/16-1/8 of a turn,that way your run just a tad bit fatter on low speed's and take off,keep's engine running better to a point,When you adjust the needle,Clockwise tightening is leaning it out.Counter clockwise is richening it up. What engine do you have in it,might help a bit more if we all know exactlly what it is.