Need some electronics suggestions

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kingkowboys

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I'm getting a HPI RS4 MT roller from a friend. It doesn't have any electronics on it, he sold them a while ago for money. He just gave me the roller, which is great becasue I've wanted an electric truck.

I'm new to electric and have only every ran HPI RS4 2 nitro. I will need to buy a motor, esc, and batteries for this truck. What's a good suggestion for running off-road? I'm looking to keep the cost down, so a system that will allow me to drive around the yard on nice summer days is all i'm looking for. I'm not trying to set any land speed records or anything.

Can i use any motor, esc, battery combo? Or do they have to be compatable with one another?

You should think whether you want brushed or brushless motors. Brushed motors are less expensive but require more maintenance. Brushless motors are a bit more expensive but require almost no maintenance. Once you decide which you want to use, it's then just a matter of choosing your ESC.

Next you need to consider battery types. The cheapest and most common is the NiMH battery pack. The other choice is the LiPo which is a bit more expensive but is capable of delivering higher bursts of power giving you more speed.

If as you say you want to just run around the yard, consider going with a brushed setup with NiMH batteries. It is the least expensive way to go. You can always upgrade later if you want to.