Motor Breakin and heat cycles.

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

safesinger

RC Newbie
Reaction score
I have the Exceed Infinity 1:10 Nitro with the .18 motor.
I did almost 3 tanks just idling. Then I went out and did figure 8's no faster than half throttle for about 3 more tanks the motor never got anywhere near 200f.
Then on 4th tank of figure 8's I started doing open throttle for small bursts for 2 more tanks and the warmest it got was 210f in center at glo plug .
After that I did another tank of gas figure 8 this time I opened the throttle up for a bit longer and it still only hit 215f in center where glow plug is outside temp never exceeded 130-150f.
Did I possibly ruin my motor? Sorry I am new to this so I am not sure if I am doing poop right.

210 is a bit high, especially during break-in. Keep the temps under 200 for a few more easy running tanks, keep full throttle pulls to a minimum until you have around 8 tanks total of driving around ran, I also do 3 tanks at idle, first tank just barely enough throttle to keep it running, second tank I do with a fast idle, and third tank I make sure the temp gets up to 180 or so. Your doing good just what I would say. I start to run more aggressively after 8- 10 tanks and after a full tank of normal driving keep the temp under 230, I personally like to see 205-210 at the head.

Each to their own I guess.
I was always under the impression you should break in a engine, at the running temp, which just over 200F.
Have done this on a few engines, they run mint, and have so much compression even after over 2 gallons of fuel.
I even used a aluminium wrap or heat gun to keep the engine at around 200.
To me 210 is perfect

Each to their own I guess.