Looking to buy either an associated MGT 8.0 or a Savage xl 5.9

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

XxcaliberxX

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to hobby rc's. I grew up with the radio shack quality cars due to lots of kids and little money. I recently bought an associated 18mt, which I quickly hoped up to a mamba competition x and went all aluminum/titanium.
I want to start getting into nitro 1/8 scale mt's. I have narrowed it down to 2 that I like. Either the associated mgt 8.0 (If the 18 mt is a reflection of the quality of this truck it will be sweet) or the hpi savage xl 5.9.
If anyone has any pointers or tips on what they would get and why it would be very appreciated.

i would go with the mgt 8.0 cause it has a little more durabilty and power

I have heard that the mgt 8.0 has a much more powerful engine, but I've heard that over all the Savage as a whole is built more solid. Can anyone help confirm or deny this? I'm sure the savage xl 5.9 is still pretty new and has less of a track record, but I'm willing to be one of the "piggies" to test it out on, if It ends up being the truck of choice. Also, after Hoping them both up as far as they go, which one will be the best truck in the end?

I have an MGT 8.0 and it is some serious hardware. I love it.
Having said that I have an XL on order, (they're not available till mid April) but I would have to believe the new Savage will be every bit as tough as the old one, with more power.
So yeah....... Anyway. Good luck.