in basic terms is a sandmaster 2 any good

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

laton7

RCTalk Champion
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
Hey guys I'm new to this forum and in fact new to the entire sport! I have just bought a sandmaster 2 with a gx-12 (is this the only engine that fits the car? i.e i want a more powerfull yet still fairly basic engin). What I am basically wondering if this car and engine is good for a total beginner like me. I will be bashing (on road mostly but also on some very rough off road terrain) and modding with any luck. Many thanks to every one who can give me any tips, hints, and general :D

Kyoshos are pretty good. That looks like an older model though. You can probably upgrade the engine up to a .19 or .20 (TRX 3.3 or Losi 3.4), but the drivetrain may not handle it.

The more I dig, the more I think you shouldn't really run it much. You'll have a hard time finding parts. What I would do (this is my personal thought) is restore it. Clean it up, make it look new, and maybe just run it for show. If it's kept up, you'll have a good vintage to show off.

---------- Post added at 4:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 4:02 PM ----------

Can you show us some pic of it?

---------- Post added at 4:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 4:07 PM ----------

Here's a manual for it that you can download
http://www.competitionx.com/pdf/vehicle-manuals/kyosho-sandmaster-st-2-manual.pdf

I hope these help. if you want any more just let me know. if i want just a car that a can thrash around my back yard then possibly just clean this up, sell it, buy something newer and a bit more worthy for a thrashing?