How do you 'slow' a vehicle down?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SpikeTop

RCTalk Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,
Newbie here and needs a little help.
I bought a $19.95 RC 18 Wheeler from ebay and the controls are a bit hard to handle. The truck won't 'creep'. It either goes full speed ahead or reverse or not. How do I make this cheap RC truck creep along for backing up to a 'dock' as it were? Is there an inexpensive way to do it?
I'd appreciate any advice and suggestions you may have on the subject.

diehard.jpg

Thanks,
Spike

Wire a diode and resistor to motor for reverse function

Can't do it. It's a toy, not an RC truck. Full on or full off. I know the steering would be the same. Centered, then full left or full right, no in between.

Can't do it. It's a toy, not an RC truck. Full on or full off. I know the steering would be the same. Centered, then full left or full right, no in between.
Yes, that's true. It's either full whatever or it isn't. Machinehed says I can. Now, who's right? Can I or can't I? Will a resister and diod do the trick?

Thanks

Machinehed didn't understand your question and told you how to get reverse. You already have reverse. I've purchased 3 1/5 scale HummVees that worked the same way. All or nothing. Full left, full right, full forward, full reverse. I only bought them for the beautifully detailed bodies and then spent insane time custom building the chassis, suspension and drive systems. I'm at about $800 each after starting out with a $100 RC.
I added an electronic component to a helicopter to slow the retracting landing gear down to be more to scale, but that component alone cost more than your truck.