Hot Wheels Sized Garage Progect

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FJC_GUY

RCTalk Addict
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Crawling
  3. Scale Builder
I'm pretty much all things car in my life. I work at an offroad shop. I work on most of my own 1:1 stuff. I like mostly car/truck RC, and I love diecast of most scales.

One of my side projects has been this garage. The original design is one I got from Thiniverse and printed just to play around with. It was originally just the 4 walls, roof, floor, and the entrance ramp. I didn't care for the size as it was smaller than it should be as a "commercial shop" type building so I started playing with it. First thing I did was just upscale it to 130%. I printed the garage door face and a couple of walls in that size and it looked more correct.

Next was to make it a more modular unit that is also expandable. The original design had provisions built into it for pinning it together. I went a little further with that then designed some couplers so I could extend its length or width easily to make different shaped and sized shops.

From there I have started making a couple of different faces so it can be a shop or a storefront, still working on those but not unhappy with the first try. I've also done most of my original modification and test prints in the original scale to conserve filament and time printing after making sure I didn't have any fitment issues after upscaling it. I of course did find something that at the smaller scale was snug but the tolerance had to be adjusted in the rescale.

Original garage. The original design is just the front part of the "L" shape on the left side. Trucks for scale.

PXL_20230123_143849761.jpg
PXL_20221226_204508335.jpg