Hot start problems

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kaiser

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I'm pretty new to nitro rigs and bought a second hand savage x 4.6. When I got the truck the previous owner couldn't get it running so I went through it and tightened/replaced all the engine screws and gave it the once over. Replaced a cracked one way bearing, and a broken starter spring and pin. I have gotten the rig to start and have tuned it in a bit so it starts nice cold. Runs about 220deg F. If I crash and can't get to the truck before it dies it has a real hard time starting. I don't know where I've gone wrong. Of the few times I've gotten to run it It had been running good, but was burning through the clutch. So I replaced the clutch shoes today. Got it started and it ran great. Wheelies and good power to the ground. Bumped into a pallet and hot stuck, before I could get to the truck it died and would not start. Didn't want to burn up new OWB so I quit. Pointers?

You may be running a bit lean causing the fuel to boil in the carb when it's hot. Usually holding the throttle about half throttle while trying to start will dump enough fuel in to cool it and get it going, just let off the throttle as soon as it fires.

That said, hard starting when hot suggests it's lost a lot of it's pinch and your getting too much blow by once everything is warmed up to operating temps. Maybe time for a new engine or at least a re-pinch on the old sleeve.

This thread of mine kind of shows you what pinch is, in case you don't know:
https://www.rcnitrotalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=56420&highlight=pinch

Thanks. Sounds like more money:( have tried the half throttle start with mixed results. Will keep at it.