gst 7.7 issue running hot any insite thanks

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jpgearhead

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
hi i just got into the hobby have wanted a nitro rc since i was 12 . So now I'm 20 and thought hell ill give them a try. I bought a used cen gts 7.7 in great shape guy said it needed too be tuned as he had put a new carb on it witch he had. As i have the old one too. I turn wreches everyday for a living and can built any motor and tune any car so i thought well this will be a walk in the park for me err WRONG i was ;( when i got it home i coulded get it started for anything! Inlease it was set crazy rich and was still hard too ever start so took motor off checked for air leaks seen the front bearing was leakin bad. So put new one in and when i had the engine apart checked for pinch could push the piston out the top of sleave so made a tool in a lathe too repinched too new. put back togather and since i repiched it put it threw break in by idleing a tank let cool and idle a tank then let cool okay now for my issue when its cold and i first start it my needel setting are top end 4 turns out and bottom end 2 1/2 out from flush factory engine settings are 4 1/2 top an 1 turn out from flush bottom. if i set it too factory if it does start like that it idels crazy up down and sounds like its saying ill blow up if you dont adjust me!! so if i just got it out and start it up it passes pinch test with the setting i described 4half top and 2half bottom and runs strong as one can ask. With good smoke trail but after a lap or 2 around the house starts too do the crazy ideal thing so turn the low end needel out a turn idel drops too normal one lap and its acting crazy agian turn low speed out a turn again just too get the ideal back and by now