Fuel leak in choke button

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

czukoman20

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hey I'm a noob to the nitro rc world .. but i sure do have the common sense to realize that my fuel is supposed to stay in the actual car itself.

Here is my deal. I tried calling the manufacturer of the car to see what the deal is .. but i have to w8 till monday.. so i was wondering if you guys would like to give me some help .

My nitro rc car is equipped with a choke button on top of the gas tank. It has a spring with a seal for leak proofness, but when i start my engine up.. the gas is bubbling inside the tank, and it leaks out of the choke button.. Now either the choke button is bad.. or i have a greater issue that deals with a bad seal somewhere which is creating this bubbly effect on the gas.
I would like some advice as to what the problem might be , and if the gas is supposed to be flyin all over the place inside the tank.

Thanks.

Do you have the exhaust tube going to the fuel outlet? That would creat excess pressure in the tank and exhaust would bubble up. And the exhaust inlet going to the carb? All that pressure might be just pushing past your choke button.

Lose that tank. I'm sure it's not the main problem right now, but all those primers WILL leak, or cause an air leak.
Other than that, double check your fuel and pressure lines.

How does the choke button work? I just plug the exhaust.

ok i will get u guys some pictures to go with my issue.. its hard for me to explain due to my vocabulary in the field be really really rough

It's not a choke, it's a primer pump. Even the TMaxx used to come with one. If you want to have a total breakdown, try tuning the engine without knowing that you have an air leak because of that stupid pump.