Ever too late to seal an engine?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Devinlowe18

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
so My TRX 3.3 has been broken in and has just under a gallon of fuel through it. I am new to the hobby and didnt know i should have sealed the engine before even breaking it in. My question is, is it ever too late to seal an engine? The thing runs perfectly no issues with it at all......YET...lol..... should i still unmount it and seal er' up or should i just leave it alone?

I'd leave it alone. Why fix something that's not broken? If you start having issues with a tune, then look into it.

ok i also have a new 3.3 engine otw in the mail for my 4-tec (the said engine above is for my Maxx). Should i seal that one up before break in or should i just wait until i have more experience before attempting things like this? i have watched the video posted on youtube by "squirrel" on how to seal an engine but that is the only knowledge i have on it. Not to make myself sound ignorant or incapable, i just dont want to cause myself issues in the future due to mistakes if you catch my drift....lol

I'd just leave it and run it as is. If it gives you issues, then look into sealing it.

you can seal with lucky 7 with out opening up the engine

I agree if it ain't broke why fix it, but it's never to late to seal it either. At the top of the page there's a sticky on how to seal an engine, it's pretty in depth and an excellent write up to follow.

I say run it as is unless it's acting up. Each time you take it apart you run the risk of damaging O-rings and seals that were otherwise undamaged and working properly if there was no issues to start with. Some engines don't really need to be sealed at all due to machining and design.