Dusting off the dust

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Total Newb

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Alright guys I am a newbie to the RC cars. I did planes for a long time but these are a little different. So I had an original Tmaxx I bought when they came out. Drove it for awhile and ended up wrecking it and losing forward travel. Would only go in reverse. So it got parked and I got busy and... Here we are. It's been parked for probably around six or seven years. Anyways looking at getting it back out. Getting ready to pull it apart and clean it up and try and figure out the transmission problem. Also wanting to do a motor upgrade. So which would be better for the motor? An OS 18 or retrofit the 2.5r or 3.3? Any help or suggestions and advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.

I'm willing to bet your reverse mechanism got jambed up inside the tranny. If you're intending to open it up anyhow, you're best option IMO is to put a FOC (forward only conversion) kit in it. Although you'll lose your reverse function, you'll cut weight, eliminate some internal rotational mass and eliminate jerking at idle.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Traxxas-For...Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item27e5f7ba2d

I'd also look into the slipper clutch upgrade.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Traxxas-535...Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item43cabc3bea

Engine wise, I'd recommend the Novarossi 2.5 with matching pipe.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Novarossi-2...Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item5408d2e36e
If your Maxx is 1st generation you'll need a throttle conversion kit
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Traxxas...Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item5afebfe1f4

A FOC is the best upgrade to any rig! So +1 with trout on this one. I would recommend the Picco .21 MAxx engine though!

Last edited: