Circular motor shaft, gear with a flat spot, what do i do?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kadenw968

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
I just bought a new motor for my rc car (https://a.co/d/2ok1vkv) and I want to put it in one of my rc cars, but the motor has a circular shaft with no flat spots, and the gear that was on the stock motor and the motor shaft have a flat spot, as shown in the photos below (gray motor is stock, blue motor is new one). How do I mount the gear onto the new motor's shaft? I'm new to RC Cars so I don't know too much about them.
EF1F5E27-FADA-4E27-8265-8E974662D0B7.jpeg
4839E2C9-A4F1-4489-9730-40C5898A69E7.jpeg
image.jpg

Last edited:
Dremel a spot on the motor shaft so the pinion grub screw can sit on and lock in place.
I heard those version of Hobbywing motors had that problem. Was thinking about getting one for my Mini B but due to that motor shaft, I passed on it.

Dremel a spot on the motor shaft so the pinion grub screw can sit on and lock in place.
I heard those version of Hobbywing motors had that problem. Was thinking about getting one for my Mini B but due to that motor shaft, I passed on it.
the gear doesn’t have a pinion screw, it just has the flat face in the hole, should i still do that? also i dont have a dremel so can i just file it?

Hmm, does it use a pin or e clip to lock it in place?

Filing it down will take lots of time to do, I would think, depending on what your filing with.

Hmm, does it use a pin or e clip to lock it in place?

Filing it down will take lots of time to do, I would think, depending on what your filing with.
no it doesn’t, it was just tightly put onto the stock shaft

alright that wil probably be what i have to do

hmm. weird, I only have experience with pinions with grub screws.