Can't start my brand new car! Help!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FieldDoc

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hi!
I'm new to the hobby and am from the UK. I recently received a HPI RS4 3 RTR at my door via mail order from the states.
I eagerly followed all the instructions in the (shockingly poor) manual and took the car outside to break the engine in...

The first time I tried to start the engine, I flooded it (over primed it with the primer button...oops). I followed the instructions and removed the glow plug and emptied the ?carb of fuel by pulling the pullstart cord.

What I don't get is that I can't get the engine to do anything! I lock the glow igniter in place, and tug and tug and tug on the cord but nothing happens...not even a grunt of life. What am I doing wrong!

I have noticed that the pull cord is harder to pull when the glow plug is in than when it is not (I noticed this when I was de-flooding the engine). Is this normal or relevant.

I am using 16% nitro fuel.

Any help would be appreciated, Thanks

First, make sure the glow plug and igniter are both good, remove the plug and put it on the igniter and make sure it glows bright orange. Be careful because it will get hot. You can use a pair of needle nose pliers to remove it carefully. I have an RS4 3 and sometimes it can be a pain to get started. Choke the carb by completely covering the air filter opening with your thumb. The stock filter is small enough to do this. Then pull it a few times, it may feel easier to pull when its getting ready to fire up, then remove your finger and pull again. Short fast pulls or you will damage the recoil if you pull to hard on it. Try these things. Is the carb still set at factory break in settings?