Beginner vehicle?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drragonx

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Hey, I'm 17 and am new to nitro rc cars. My brother has an HSP tyranasoraus 1/10 so I have some experience driving it but I don't like it at all. (Parts come off easily lol). I am planning for a one time big investment. I thought of buying traxxas revo 3.3 but found out that the spares are too expensive. Please suggest a good starter.
My reqs:
4wd, waterproof, 2.4ghz, reverse, ROSS/Ez start/roto start, 1/10 or 1/8, (no cars/buggy), should be able to drive through deserts, rocky terrain, forest as well as on streets. And most importantly be within $500 with not too expensive spares.

Hpi savage x 4.6. It's tuff right out of the box, the 4.6 is a good strong engine that is easy and forgiving to tune. It doesn't have reverse but you can add it if you want.

Well anything in the savage line would be nice.. do you plan on exclusively buying new? Also have you considered electric? if you have look at the savage xs, its about a 1/10th size. its listed as 1/12th but its about as big as my b4.2. Before I really start recommending anything I need to know if you want to stick with just nitro rigs, or if you are interested in electric as well.

+1 on the HPI savage line! My first RC was a savage X 4.6, which was a cool truck. I have moved onto electric now. I'm 16yrs old so I was kinda in the same seat as you...

Brandon

My first nitro truck was the Revo 3.3. It was strong enough out of the box that the only thing I ever really broke with the stock 3.3 was the Reverse.

So its either revo 3.3 or hpi savage.

---------- Post added at 1:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 1:45 AM ----------