Your thoughts on my LHS

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BadOleRoss

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I am new to nitro and new to this forum as well. It all started Christmas day when I broke in my Savage 21, ran it a bit, tore my knuckles up and decided a roto start and reverse were the way to go. I ordered and installed roto and reverse but developed a problem with the servo horns and accelerator sticking and could not get the reverse to engage to I took it to my LHS for help. He has had in since 1/1/04. I have talked to him on serveral occasions over the past 2 weeks. First he said it needed a new servo due to an oversized screw I put in the original to secure the horns and I was guilty of this. Later he could not test it due to rain. After this he was waiting on a new reverse module from HPI because the one I installed was bad. The lastest is it needs a new engine due to no compression. He believes this is due to high revs which did occur when I was breaking it. When I stopped by to visit my Savage it still had the original servo in place which makes me think that it has been sitting on a work bench for 2 weeks. I did mave him order the .25 motor to replace the .21, I had him order a replacement servo to replace the one I messed up. He clearly did not start the engine to test it after the rain stopped. Can you identify a bad reverse module w/o starting the Savage? What in a reverse module can go bad anyway? I should have found this forum before I took it to my LHS and I would have done the repairs myself! Any thoughts ?

About the engine: Did you not hold back and let 'er rip during break in? What happened?