Tools 101?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JSY0829

RCTalk Talkaholic
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hello,
I'm new to the nitro scene and was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on what tools I should get for my Tmaxx? What tools and sizes do I need and shouldn't be without?

TIA

Well, congrats on the new purchase! I love my Maxx. Well since the Maxx was my first RC nitro I was in your shoes at one point. The first things I would get is a good T handle Plug wrench. That will act not only as your plug wrench, but as a lug wrench for your wheels as well. I would also get a good set of hex wrenches. I know most of the Maxx is phillips head, but you will want to change those out quickly with a set of hex head screws. Other than that you don't need to much to work on the Maxx. I would look to get a temp gun, a good exacto knife, and some CA glue. You may also look at getting a Dremel tool down the road as well. That should get you started. I hope this helps.

Tom

Ditto

A temp gun and hex screws along with hex drivers to fit them. Those phillips on the max is a huge PITA at times to deal with and they strip out easy. I'm not sure how well these tools work but they're the best deal I've found so far. I'll order me a full set once I get off my lazt butt to do it lol Anyways, just click on the tool link and then the hand tools...they got sets for both metric and standard hex drivers also.

http://h1071118.hobbyshopnow.com/products/description.asp?prod=DYN2812