Savage XL VS REVO Platinum - My amateur review!

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

igororlic

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hi all, I am an amateur -RC fan but still...

So, my best mate bought REVO Platinum and I bought SAVAGE XL. At first REVO seemed with all its shiny parts and coloured components as very durable, with high quality parts, hence the price tag. It really looks impressive and professional.

Long story short, we went for a 'bash' one day on the football field and after 3 hours of driving around REVO's wheel almost came off because joints at the ends of red rod broke (why did they make joins of plastic? - stupid!).
I managed to bend XL's suspension rod because I hit the metal fence at 3/4 throttle.

Next time we went to BMX track which off course has some small jump-hills around.
:) ...and after 10 minutes of driving REVO's suspension was gone, 2 parts broken. Then he managed to fix is somehow just so he could drive for another few minutes but then main link for the wheel broke and naturally wheel came off almost completely. He also broke one of the spring-housings. REVO's tires also got pretty detached from the wheel rims.
I was bashing my XL hardcore, landing in every possible way. We both then bashed my XL together for another hour and my mate was very impressed, saying that it was way more fun than REVO. We broke nothing on XL that day.
I'm just very surprised and disappointed at the same time with REVO. Even when we tried to fix something on REVO, we both got impression that it's just poor materials and overall quality of the car was not so good, (engine aside).