Savage XL Differential Question

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CMVance

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
I am waiting on the arrival of my first RC truck, an HPI Savage XL, and in thinking about some mods I would like to do, I came across these Slider CVD shafts on ebay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/200690387768?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649).
v8d2is.jpg

I am also wanting to upgrade the differentials to the alloy diff housings (http://www.rcplanet.com/Integy_Gearbox_Assembly_p/intt6923purple.htm).
ek547s.jpg

I seem to recall seeing a post somewhere that the shafts may not be compatibloe with the alloy diff housings, but I can't find it again. Does anyone have experience with this setup? I am new to the RC world, and this is my first Nitro truck, so I apologize if this has already been answered. Someone told me this hobby is addictive, and I believe it. :D

Thanks for the help.
Charlie

I have no experience with the CV shafts, but stay away from that integy bulkhead. If you want an aluminum bulk, buy the one from Golden Horizons. They make a much better product. IMO, your better off waiting until something breaks and then upgrade. http://www.ghhobby.com/proddetail.php?prod=2618

Last edited:
The drive shafts on the XL are designed to handle to output of the bigger engine so save your money and get a better charger for the receiver pack. With a better charger you'll know how charged your battery is and if you get one with a discharge feature, your pack or packs will last longer. My XL is completely stock with the exception of a larger capacity receiver pack and the pull start I have on it now. Just make sure you follow the break in procedures and buy a temp gun. Hope this helps, Steve.