Right time to try and get it running

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jody 4444

RC Newbie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Racing
Hi i am a newbie here and i have got a HPI SAVAGE SS with a OS 30vg engine and 3 speed and for the life of me i can't get it running, i have had the glow plug charger on all night and fitted a new glow plug, I have put new fuel in but it will not fire not even a bit, it has been primed and turned over with the roto start and is getting fuel, took the glow plug out and tested and ok its a orange glow.
Does the transmitter on the car and receiver have to be on for it to run ( not that it made any difference )
Any help would be appreciated :D
DSC01088.gif

DSC01090.gif

Do you have fuel going through the lines to the engine? Check your fuel line to see if its broke, Also check your tank for cracks

Right there is definitely fuel getting in as some times fuel comes out of the exhaust and there are no cracks or splits in the fuel lines or tank :(

OK just given it another go and it now gives a puff out of the air filter hole like a backfire about 2 times in a 10 sec turning cycle

How's the compression feel? If you can turn the engine over with 1 finger on the flywheel, it may need a rebuild.

Yep you can turn it over with one finger on the flywheel.
So would i need a new piston and liner ?