New owner of a used Savage 25

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RColdschoolrc

RCTalk Rookie
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Hello everyone!!
I'm TOTALLY new to nitro, but I've been into electric R/Cs since 1983.
I'm at well over 150 R/C models over those 31 years.

I recently stumbled across a highly used/partly neglected Savage 25 with everything(and I mean 2 banana boxes of EVERYTHING) necessary to run it, PLUS tons of extra stuff, except the 8 AA batteries for the transmitter.
It even came with the new differential that it needed to have installed!
All for the sum of: Fishing it out of the dude's dumpster...

Though I didn't like the look of the pinion gear that the new diff was mating to, so I bought a #86031 pinion for $13!

I cleaned the built up nitro/dirt mix from the engine for 4 hours and the rest of the truck for another 2.5 hours.....

It has a Dynamite Mach 28 that sounds real deep and throaty.
So far it makes a stupid amount of power!!

The info for my "question" is:
When I researched the engine specs it recommends 2 turns out on the low speed and 3.5 turns out for the high speed settings on the carb.
That seems a little lean to me.(But what do I know? LOL)
I subscribe to the "Plugs are cheaper than pistons" theory, so I want it a little more rich than "normal".

When I checked where the P.O. had it set, the low was out 3.75 turns and the high was out 4.25 turns.
This seems possibly a little too rich?

Or is this where I may well want to run it to keep it rich?

I ran it for the first time today.
I only ran about 6oz of fuel through it before the receiver batteries decided they were tired(sat for almost 2 years) after about 45 min.
I think I'm at around 2.5 turns out on the low and just under 4 turns out on the high.