New 4.6, but getting discouraged...

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tjstinson

RCTalk Basher
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
First, I am somewhat new to the RC hobby, but I would not consider myself completely green. I am still learning, but I have maintained and had success with a nitro buggy for months.

I just bought a Savage X 4.6 new. Got it started and the throttle trim was dialed full and before I realized what was going on, I busted the spur gear. I thought I might have ruined the engine, but it has good compression and seems fine. Bought all four spur gears that the hobby shop had and replaced the stock one. Have a perfect mesh now and I have learned a valuable lesson to always check the settings on the controls before I start the truck.

I finally got two tanks during the idle break in and two tanks of limited and gentle figure 8 runs.

I just started tuning the HSN...

PROBLEMS AGAIN:

1. Was probably a full turn or more on the HSN (done in 1 hr increments at a time, of course) and though the engine was definitely getting dialed in using 20% Traxxas fuel, I was no where close to standing up (new black top in 40 degree ambient temperature).

2. Checked the temps after the fuel run. 280 degrees!? I was definitely doing some WOT runs, but nothing extreme and I still felt the HSN needed turned in at least a 1/4 or more turns based on the turns and response I was already getting. So high temps and I know that temps are relative and subject to many different factors, but being a new truck and knowing that I was not getting the throttle response I should expect, and the truck has yet to take the front wheels higher than a 1/2'' from the ground, what am I to do?