McLaren GTR Longtail

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WideOpen

RCTalk Addict
Supporter
Reaction score
Well one of the guys at the racetrack gave us a brand-new McLaren GTR Longtail. My grandson wants to slap a coat of paint on it and run it; I want to try to paint it nice and take our time.

Attachments

• McLaren GTR Longtail.jpg
    McLaren GTR Longtail.jpg
    268.9 KB · Views: 78
I dont blame you for wanting taking your time. Rare exotic car, and those bodies arent laying on a store shelf somewhere!

That car brings out the old need for speed memories on ps1.

I've never done one before, any tip or tricks, I'm open for guidance

Do your body holes first, and get a good body reamer. Line the body up where you want it, mark the holes on the outside, then I always just poke a small starter hole, then paint. I then finish the holes after.

Ok, did a little sniffing today. Since this is my first painting job and my grandson wants it done quickly, here is what I think will be a good compromise - basically one color with a wide stripe bordered by a narrow stripe on each side - we can add external stickers later. Thoughts?

Attachments

• McLaren GTR Longtail idea.jpg.png
    McLaren GTR Longtail idea.jpg.png
    418.7 KB · Views: 38
My only thoughts is I hope it has a scoop, spoiler, and wings. 😁

Uber cool, man. I personally lean toward the classic kind of schemes anyway without a lot of crazy details. I think it’ll be awesome.
First couple of coats should be a super fine mist, let dry, repeat. Don’t try to build too much of a base on the first few coats. For metallics it’s crucial or you will see “pools” of metallic in random places when you’re done. Good luck, and can’t wait to see your pics. That McLaren is simply freaking gorgeous.