Is the Savage SS a beginners truck

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joshiestevens

RCTalk Racer
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
Hi, I am basically a beginner in RC.

I had a Cen Fun Factor RTR last year, but I sold it within 2 months because I kept getting problems with it and didnt know how to fix them.

I now want to build a kit becuase I feel it will give me more knowledge about how to fix it when it goes wrong.

is the SS a beginers truck, and what radio equiptment is needed.

if it is not a beginners truck do you recommend anything else around the $349 price. I am ont a full RC enthusiast. I am still at school, and might drive it for a bit on grass, stones dirt, mud and a few jumps at the weekend.

I look foward to your sugestions
Josh

Well, if you want something you cann driove on any terrain, a monster truck, or a buggy is definetaly the way to go.

If I am not mistaken the savage SS is the only monster truck that comes in kit form. (please correct me if I am wrong)

Buggy's, now most all of them come in a kit form. The problem is, they are a bit more expemsive than your 350 price range I belive.

The XTM X-terminator(buggy) is around your price range. It's a very durable basher. Their customer service is the best in the business. I also hear buggys are more durable than monster trucks.

as for the savage from what I hear it is more durable out of the box, than the T-maxx. I don't know how you drive, bu the tmaxx is pretty damned durable. I am rutheless and it takes some serious abuse.

If the savage is like they say and more durable than the Maxx, you will have less go wrong than your fun factor. You will also get more run time, with less fix it time.