I'm a noobie and have a ?

Welcome to RCTalk

Come join other RC enthusiasts! You'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

duramax47

RCTalk Addict
Reaction score
RC Driving Style
  1. Bashing
  2. Racing
Hi guys I'm kinda new to nitro rc and i have a t-maxx 3.3 4908 and i know a bit about it but after break in and during break in my truck has never had low end; never pops wheelies but great on high end i know how to tune good, so I'm thinking that because i never got it to full running temp when i broke it in last winter that its just not a strong motor. What should i do or is their anything i can do?

What are your temps at? My revo didn't wake up till it hit 265.

A proper break-in is crucial to engine performance and life. It's possible that due to a poor break-in you are down on power but the tune could be off. Also how your suspension is setup can affect it's ability to wheelie.

The suspension is stock from traxxas and i range from temps when its cold out i see 160 170 when its warm out i have to shut off early when i see 260 to 285 and i know its tuned as well as it can be so ? what can i do

The 160*-170* temps are too low for proper performance and can actually shorten engine life. The 260*-285* isn't excessive.
The 3.3 should be able to wheelie but if you KNOW the tune is right on my only suggestion is to stiffen the rear suspension. Thicker shock oil,heavier springs and or add spring spacers.

ya i know its tuned right but it has no low end and when i give it gas it lags tell it gets some speed up so I'm pretty sure its the motor i think because of poor break in it could use a rebuild with proper break in and a diff fuel cause i think traxxas 20% is way to oily what do you think about that idea?